Grub Street


Going on a trip

Posted in Uncategorized by grubstreet on April 16, 2006

I’m going on a trip today. I woke up unnaturally early; perhaps I am feeling anxious. I’m going on a trip with 3 dudes for a whole week. Tonight I will be at my alma mater, likely crashing on someone’s floor, a stop along the way to Benton Harbor, MI. I might be back at my alma mater in a month to play a commencement show with 2 other alumni bands. I made a list of items I need to pack. I will likely pack while my travel companions are attending Easter brunches.

The other day at the Greenpoint Y, I put my clothes and headphones in a locker with no lock. When I was ready to leave, I returned to find a lock on my locker, presumably also stuffed with someone else’s exercise gear. I notified the Y attendant (“fitness expert”?) who was infinitely unhelpful. She said, “Well, I guess you’ll have to hang around for a while until someone opens it…” I was angry at her attitude and how little she was willing to do. The last thing I want to be doing is hanging around at the Y. I left and returned in an hour, luckily to find that the fool who had locked up my locker was gone and my stuff was intact.

Leave a Reply

